Keynote Speakers

This page will be updated as planning proceeds.

Professor Prabir Roy-Chaudhury

  • Keynote Speaker
  • Prabir Roy-Chaudhury MD, PhD, FRCP (Edin) is the Division Head for Nephrology at the University of Arizona. After graduating from the Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India, he trained in Internal Medicine and Nephrology at the University of Aberdeen, Scotland and at the Beth Israel Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA. In addition to being an active transplant nephrologist, Dr. Roy-Chaudhury’s main research interest is in dialysis vascular access and uremic vascular disease and he currently directs the Dialysis Vascular Access Research Program at the University of Cincinnati. This is a comprehensive, integrated, multi-disciplinary translational program focused on dialysis vascular access, which includes basic science research, clinical research and patient care. This translational research program is funded through the National Institutes of Health, the Veterans Administration research program and through industry grants. Dr. Roy-Chaudhury has received national awards, has published over 150 peer reviewed manuscripts and is a sought after invited speaker both nationally and internationally

    Dr. Roy-Chaudhury is also actively involved in the public policy and administrative aspects of dialysis vascular access care and hemodialysis as a board member/councilor/committee chair for the American Society of Diagnostic and Interventional Nephrology, the Renal Network, the Cincinnati chapter of the National Kidney Foundation and the Medical Advisory Board of the Life Center. He is a member of the Interventional Nephrology Advisory Group of the American Society of Nephrology (ASN), a member of the ASN Board of Advisors and Capitol Hill advocacy team and a member of the ASN Postgraduation Education Committee. Dr. Roy-Chaudhury is also the American Society of Nephrology co-chair of the Kidney Health Initiative which is a public-private partnership between the ASN and the FDA which aims to bring together nephrologists, industry partners, patient advocacy groups and regulatory agencies; in an attempt to facilitate the passage of drugs, devices and biologics into the kidney disease space.


Professor Bruce Molitoris

  • Keynote Speaker
  • Bruce A. Molitoris graduated from Washington University School of Medicine and completed residency in internal medicine and fellowship in Nephrology at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. His research interests include acute kidney injury from ischemia, sepsis and nephrotoxins, and the utilization of two photon microscopy to study in vivo cellular and subcellular processes within the kidney. Actin cytoskeletal and surface membrane polarity, nephrotoxin uptake and trafficking, and therapeutic responses and mechanisms to different agents are all studied. He is using 2-photon microscopy to quantify the roles of glomerular permeability, proximal tubule uptake and transcytosis of albumin in determining albuminuria.He is presently funded as the PI by two NIH RO-1 grants, a NIH P-30 grant, a NIH STTR phase II grant, a VA Merit Review and several pharmaceutical and biotech companies. He has patents for several AKI therapeutics and light microscopy imaging techniques. He is a founding member of INphoton and a co-founder of FAST Biomedical. Dr. Molitoris is a professor of medicine at Indiana University, a past President of the American Society of Nephrology, a Foreign Adjunct Professor at the Karolinska Institute, is involved in numerous NIH committees and study sections, and is the Director of the Indiana Center for Biological Microscopy.



Associate Professor John Gill

    Keynote Speaker

John Gill is a clinician scientist and Professor of Medicine with Tenure in the Division of Nephrology, St. Paul’s Hospital.

John is an active researcher whose interests include clinical outcomes in kidney transplantation, access to care, clinical trials, health services research, and ethics.

John is Past President of the Canadian Society of Nephrology and the Canadian Organ Replacement Register. He is Deputy Editor of the American Journal of Transplantation and co-Chairs the American Society of Transplantation Annual Fellows Education Meeting.

He is the supervisor for Masters and PhD candidates at the UBC School of Population and Public Health and has supervised over 20 post-doctoral students. He co-chairs the Canadian Renal Transplant Study Group (CRTS).